It’s Higurashi Month at JanaiBlog!

Such a happy bunch, don't you think?

In all the time that I’ve been an anime fan, nothing has entertained me quite as much as the psychological horror-fest series Higurashi no Naku Koro ni, also known as When They Cry or simply Higurashi. For some strange reason, JanaiBlog has been pretty light on Higurashi-related content, with only a few mentions here and there. That just has to be fixed.

Throughout the month of October, a series of Higurashi-related articles will be posted. Gina has put a ton of work into writing a separate review for each of the first three arcs of the Higurashi manga series, distributed by Yen Press.

Hopefully, that won’t be all. I am looking for a guest reviewer to review the Higurashi visual novels, distributed by MangaGamer. If you have played all or some of the games and would like to review them, send an email to janaiblog@gmail.com along with some examples of stuff you’ve written in the past (anything anime/otaku related is fine).

Gina’s first review will be posted on October 4th. Look out for it! And also look out for psychotic yanderes with knives.

4 thoughts on “It’s Higurashi Month at JanaiBlog!

  1. Hey, just asking since I don’t know, isn’t the manga based on the anime based on the visual novel?

    I haven’t watched the show, but I guess that’s where I should start. I hear a lot about it but know little. Also, is Janai the one who loves this show or is it Gina? Or is it both?

  2. @Morendo:

    Higurashi was originally a series of doujin visual novels. Then it became a manga and then an anime.

    Start with the anime, it’s the best-paced of the three in my opinion.

    Both me and Gina LOVE Higurashi. Like, a lot. 🙂

  3. Higurashi is the best!! love the characters and the story is awesome, although I still don’t understand it so well hehe -3-, but A-NY-WAYS is cool 🙂 I’m thinking of buying the mangas, there are like 11 vols available now right ?… *sight* it will take a while though X3

Leave a comment