Anime Review: Nichijou (Everyday Life, My Ordinary Life)

So it turns out that Nichijou is not only an anime (available for free on Crunchyroll) but a manga as well. I have not READ the manga, so I will not be reviewing it. However, if I were to place a guess, it would be a 4koma and would have short one-off ‘skits’ (for lack of a better word) like the anime has.

The absolute first thing I have to say about it is that the PV is VERY misleading. Secondly, the description and title are a bit misleading. Judging by what we see, one would be forgiven for assuming it is another slice of life anime with some craaaaaazzzy situations that we have NEVER seen before (and by never I mean every other slice of life anime did so.) And third, I cannot get the image to post.

But, if anything, you should watch the first episode. I gave it a chance, and it ended up getting awarded for being much better than expected (and I would have given it anime of the year 2011 had I though to have an anime and a manga award. Hindsight is 20/20.)

The first episode starts with a girl with a wind up handle in her back running down the street. Fine, only a little bit out of the ordinary. Then she runs into a guy, as she can’t stop in time. Been there, done that more times than I care to count. Then there is an explosion, with a tokeshi, an akabeko, and a salmon fillet flying through the air. I did NOT see that coming.

Next, we get introduced to two of the main characters, high school girls by the name of Aioi and Mio. Aioi is subsequently struck in the head by the objects. After the second item hits, she remarks that she is lucky that at least no raw meat hit her in the head. Three guesses as to what hits her next.

Wikipedia has the best plot description there is, so enjoy it: “The series follows the lives of a group of high school students and their school. Various oddities and absurdities abound, such as a robotic girl made by a scientist who is an eight-year-old girl, a boy who rides a goat to school with his butler, a girl who can procure various guns out of thin air, a cat that can speak and a principal who has wrestled a deer. Despite its bizarre settings and characters, the students still lead normal lives.”

Well, the last sentence isn’t ENTIRELY true. Many, many semblances of normality appear, but with the absurdity of the series, even some things that are quite common become wholly original and amusing.

The weird thing is, I have evry little to say about Nichijou, apart from I spent most of the time being highly amused by it, and not in a negative way. It is really genuinely GOOD. And to be honest, I don’t say that easily or often.

If you like somehting that is more romance or action or basic slice of life, this will not be for you. If you like seeing genre lines blurred and reality slightly twisted into the comically absurd, then this is for you.

I would honestly like to say more, but I am watching it again for around the third time, and I would rather go back to that. Also, saying any more, while it would all be complementing it on everything it had done and discussing it all, it is genuinely good enough that I do NOT want to spoil ANY of the plot if possible. And yes, there is an underlying plot that ties together all the separate stories and characters.

I will admit that I was going to review this earlier on, but I do not like to review series that are ongoing (until a certain point) as they can take a sudden rise or fall in quality, and I don’t want to say a series is the best ever if it goes and undoes everything in the next episode.

Afterthought: While the girls in the show all wear very short skirts for school, there are absolutely no pantyshots. Finally, a mature series that doesn’t use its high school girls bodies to sell itself.

Score: 5/5 very good

Pros: One of the best and most amusing animes I have ever seen. Also, it DOESN’T sexualize its characters.

Cons: most people do not enjoy genre blurring, they like their slice of life to be only slice of life, not comically absurd slice of life

What you should do: it is on crunchyroll, and it  is free. Go and watch it. I sincerely doubt you will not enjoy it.

2 thoughts on “Anime Review: Nichijou (Everyday Life, My Ordinary Life)

    • I can probably see Sentai picking it up. I am not sure if this show would benefit from a dub or not, unless who ever gets it decides to do more of a gag dub instead of a dub that is close to the Japanese.

Leave a Reply

