Fall 2011 First Impressions: Tamaura~Hitotose

Plot Synopsis: “Amateur photographer Fu Sawatari returns to the town of Takehara, Hiroshima— her late father’s hometown —after a five-year absence and begins her first year of high school. There, she manages to establish a set of friends despite her shyness: childhood friend Kaoru Hanawa, plus Maon Sakurada and Norie Okazaki. The four friends stick together through a variety of high school adventures.”

Thoughts: It should be public knowledge that I enjoy cute girls doing cute things type of shows and moe in general.  I have enjoyed the little bit of K-on! that I have watched and read, and I have enjoyed what I have only seen so far in A Channel.  So by default that would mean I enjoyed the first episode of Tamayura ~Hitotose right?  How I should I put this, I did not dislike the first episode, but I was not engrossed by it either.

Now as I mentioned I like cute girl doing cute things type of shows.  That being said I could just not get into the first episode of this series.  That is not to say it was terrible but it just excessively sappy for my own personal tastes.  I like sappy shows but something you know has to happen during the episode to make it worthwhile and you know enjoyable to watch.  I am not going to lie here; this took me longer than 24 minutes to watch it all.  I could only muster five or six minutes at a time then do something else for a few minutes then come back and watch some more.

The main female lead Fu does get some backstory and her interest in photograph rounds her out to be more than just a moe girl with moe traits and a tragic backstory.  The character designs are moe, but nothing completely outrageous or out of the ordinary.  The background art is good too and it fits the show nicely.  The music is touching and nice to listen to while watching the show.

The first episode of Tamayura ~Hitotose is not going to set the moe or slice of life genre or fire by any means.  I do not know how this is going to turn out with the next few episodes or the rest of the series for that matter.  I do know for one thing, if you need something to help put you to sleep for the night the first episode of Tamayura~Hitotose is just what the doctor ordered.

Score: 2/5

Leave a Reply

