Anime Fans Give Back To Japan Podcast Marathon Has Ended

Well, it actually ended yesterday at 6 PM EST, I’m just really slow. If you haven’t heard about this, it was a 24 hour podcast marathon that happened over the weekend. Their goal was to raise $25,000 for earthquake relief efforts, and if you look at their site you can see they clearly succeeded. $31,000 is an impressive feat for something that was thrown together by a group of anime fans with about a week notice, and I congratulate them for being able to do so.

With all the voice actors and other industry guests who made an appearance, there were quite a few highlights over the 24 hours. Michelle Ruff mentioned she’ll be voicing Katherine in Atlus’ upcoming puzzle game Catherine. Maile Flanagan got confused about which Naruto movie she recently recorded. Steve Blum phoned in a little late but still made everyone fanboy a little. Daryl Surat’s plot to get people to watch old anime was foiled by terrible Internet service. The One Piece Podcast guys got to interview Luci Christian, the voice of Nami in Funimation’s dub of One Piece, bringing them one step closer to interviewing all of the Straw Hat Pirates.

There was a lot more that went on as 24 hours is quite a lot of time to fill, but this is just what I can recall off the top of my head. I managed to watch about 17 or 18 hours of the podcast, only getting maybe three and half hours of sleep overnight, and missing a few hours because I had other things I had to do on Sunday. I’m not sure whether or not any of it was recorded, though I hope it was as I ended up missing Crispin Freeman’s appearance, which I really wanted to see.

Donations are still open, so if you want to donate you still can. If you need some incentive to do so, every $10 you donate gives you a chance to win one of several prize packs. They’re also planning to do a mini-marathon again next weekend, and more details of that will come out as the week goes on.

2 thoughts on “Anime Fans Give Back To Japan Podcast Marathon Has Ended

    • I had to go to my grandparents for dinner and they don’t have Internet so there was nothing I could do. I did get back in time to see the last 5 minutes of the podcast, which is when he had his cats on camera, so that was great.

Leave a Reply

